British Open 2017

The British Open 2017 will tee off Thursday, July 20, at Royal Birkdale in Southport, England. The golfing tournament, recognized across the world because the Open Championship 2017, will end Sunday, July 23, with the winner hoisting the Claret Jug.

Live Stream: British Open Golf 2017

British Open 2017

The 2017 Open Championship will take place at Royal Birkdale Golf Club in Southport, England, from Thursday through to Sunday.

British Open 2017

Fans will see plenty of action on Thursday and Friday as Golf Channel is broadcasting the first and second rounds from 1:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. ET.

In other words, folks can conceivably sit on the couch Thursday and watch 1998 Open champion Mark O’Meara hit this year’s opening tee shot at 1:35 a.m. ET and stay there until Ryan McCarthy, Laurie Canter and Sebastian Munoz finish up their first round at roughly 4 p.m. ET.

Following cuts in the field, Golf Channel will air Saturday coverage from 4:30 a.m. until 7 a.m. ET before passing the baton to NBC, who will screen the tournament from 7 a.m. through 3 p.m. ET. There will be some post-tournament coverage from 4:30 p.m. to 6 p.m. ET.

It’s a similar format for the tournament’s final day, as Golf Channel will take the lead from 4 a.m. until 7 a.m. ET before NBC airs the final seven hours until 2 p.m. ET. Fans will also be able to live-stream the British Open online.

Per Bill Speros of Golfweek, “the total prize money for the 146th Open Championship will be $10.25 million, with the winner receiving $1.845 million to go along with the Claret Jug.” Second place will still receive a cool $1,067,000.

Here’s a look at the tee times for Thursday’s first-round action via The Open’s website, followed by a quick preview.

Thursday Tee Times (ET)

1:35 a.m. — Mark O’Meara, Chris Wood, Ryan Moore
1:46 a.m. — Maverick McNealy, Phachara Khongwatmai, Stuart Manley
1:57 a.m. — Stewart Cink, Sandy Lyle, Jeunghung Wang
2:08 a.m. — Paul Broadhurst, Thongchai Jaidee, Roberto Castro
2:19 a.m. — Tom Lehman, Byeong Hun An, Darren Fichardt
2:30 a.m. — Soren Kjeldsen, Billy Horschel, Danny Willett
2:41 a.m. — Matthew Fitzpatrick, Steve Stricker, Emiliano Grillo
2:52 a.m. — Jason Dufner, Branden Grace, Bryson DeChambeau
3:03 a.m. — Alex Noren, Russell Knox, Ian Poulter
3:14 a.m. — David Duval, Prayad Marksaeng, KT Kim
3:25 a.m. — Younghan Song, David Horsey, Dylan Frittelli
3:36 a.m. — Mike Lorenzo-Vera, Charles Howell III, Shiv Kapur
3:47 a.m. — Russell Henley, Fabrizio Zanotti, Peter Uihlein
4:03 a.m. — Alexander Levy, Brendan Steele, Webb Simpson
4:14 a.m. — Wesley Bryan, Anirban Lahiri, Alfie Plant
4:25 a.m. — Darren Clarke, Gary Woodland, Harry Ellis
4:36 a.m. — Padraig Harrington, Pat Perez, Thomas Pieters
4:47 a.m. — Henrik Stenson, Si Woo Kim, Jordan Spieth
4:58 a.m. — Louis Oosthuizen, Justin Rose, Justin Thomas
5:09 a.m. — Brooks Koepka, Hideki Matsuyama, Tommy Fleetwood
5:20 a.m. — J.B. Holmes, Brandt Snedeker, Shane Lowry
5:31 a.m. — Richard Bland, Shaun Norris, Luca Cianchetti
5:42 a.m. — Yikeun Chang, Chan Kim, Mark Foster
5:53 a.m. — Sung-Hoon Kang, Tony Finau, Matthieu Pavon
6:04 a.m. — Alexander Bjork, Joe Dean, Robert Streb
6:15 a.m. — Robert Dinwiddie, Julian Suri, Adam Hodkinson
6:36 a.m. — Andrew Johnson, Adam Hadwin, Todd Hamilton
6:47 a.m. — John Daly, Adam Bland, Connor Syme
6:58 a.m. — William McGirt, Toby Tree, Jamie Lovemark
7:09 a.m. — Matthew Griffin, Austin Connelly, Matthew Southgate
7:20 a.m. — Cameron Smith, Bill Haas, Callum Shinkwin
7:31 a.m. — Michael Hendry, Brian Harman, Martin Laird
7:42 a.m. — Ernie Els, Ross Fisher, Bernd Wiesberger
7:53 a.m. — Tyrrell Hatton, Martin Kaymer, Aaron Baddeley
8:04 a.m. — Zach Johnson, Jason Day, Sergio Garcia
8:15 a.m. — Andy Sullivan, Joost Luiten, David Lipsky
8:26 a.m. — Rickie Fowler, Adam Scott, Paul Casey
8:37 a.m. — Matt Kuchar, Richie Ramsay, Ryan Fox
8:48 a.m. — Kevin Kisner, Charley Hoffman, David Drysdale
9:04 a.m. — Jimmy Walker, Hideto Tanihara, Thorbjorn Olesen
9:15 a.m. — Jhonattan Vegas, Brandon Stone, Sean O’Hair
9:26 a.m. — Daniel Berger, Pablo Larrazabal, Yuta Ikeda
9:37 a.m. — Paul Lawrie, Kevin Chappell, Yusaku Miyazato
9:48 a.m. — Rory McIlroy, Dustin Johnson, Charl Schwartzel
9:59 a.m. — Jon Rahm, Patrick Reed, Lee Westwood
10:10 a.m. — Phil Mickelson, Francesco Molinari, Marc Leishman
10:21 a.m. — Scott Hend, Rafael Cabrera-Bello, Bubba Watson
10:32 a.m. — Paul Waring, Kyle Stanley, Kevin Na
10:43 a.m. — Giwhan Kim, Xander Schauffele, Andrew Dodt
10:54 a.m. — Haotong Li, Kent Bulle, Haydn McCullen
11:05 a.m. — Jbe’ Kruger, Nick McCarthy, Ashley Hall
11:16 a.m. — Ryan McCarthy, Laurie Canter, Sebastian Munoz

British Open Live Stream


Seven players finished 10-under or better at the U.S. Open this year, but it’s highly doubtful any golfer reaches that score in golf’s next major.

In fact, it’s possible that no one shoots even par. In 2008, Padraig Harrington won the tournament at three over, and Ian Poulter finished second at seven over.

Royal Birkdale is a typical coastal links course that can feature treacherous winds, creating a situation where errant tee shots or approaches find their way into the nasty rough or the litany of pot bunkers that surround each hole.

Therefore, accurate tee shots are key, as the official course guide claims numerous times in the hole-by-hole descriptions.

The weather will play a big factor in the tournament, and if the current BBC forecast is any indication, then golfers teeing off Friday morning during the second round are in a spot of trouble, as 20-mile-per-hour winds are currently projected.

There’s also some on-and-off rain in the forecast for Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Therefore, the best scoring day might be Thursday before Royal Birkdale grits its teeth.

Experience should also play a big factor this week. Young players who haven’t played much links-style golf will have trouble here. The same goes for golfers who lose their cool on the course, as Royal Birkdale is going to get the best of everyone out there at some point.

Ultimately, The Open Championship should end up being the greatest major test this year.

TV times and how to watch online

The British Open Championship airs on TV on Thursday on Golf Channel, with coverage going from 1:30 a.m. – 4 p.m. Eastern.

On the Golf Channel app and on, streaming coverage beings at 1:30 a.m. Eastern. The R&A also has three channels of streaming coverage on, including featured groups and holes 12-14.

British Open 2017, British Open 2017,British Open 2017,British Open 2017,British Open 2017,British Open 2017,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *